They’re HERE!!!!!!

 

As if I don’t have enough to do already before Christmas, with time rapidly running out, now I have yet something else to distract me! I didn’t realize that it was already that time of year – my bad.  That’s right, the first one of them arrived today…..my seed catalogs!!!   🙂 

For those of you who don’t know this lovely little tidbit of information….I am an AVID Heirloom Gardener, and have been forever. And just to be clear – that DOES NOT mean that I am a 100-year-old gardener!  What is an “Heirloom Gardener” then? It is someone who abhors genetically altered seeds or foods (in fact we call them “Frankenfoods”) and only grows the varieties that your grandma, or great-grandma grew. The exception to this is the seed/food varieties from other countries that they have been growing for decades, but have NEVER genetically altered or treated with chemicals to increase their production. 

I grow (from seed) approximately 25 varieties of peppers, the hotter the better – I am from Texas after all!  🙂  However, my main passion is my tomatoes. I grow somewhere between 20 to 30 varieties every year (have to try out a few new “imports” just to mix it up). These are not your average tomatoes either, think 2 lbs apiece and up!! A 4 and 1/2 lb monster has been my largest so far, although every year I do try to beat that. No, I do not enter contests – I grow them for my enjoyment and eating pleasure (mainly for my eating pleasure), and I tend to keep my friends and relatives in fresh produce as well. Most of them do not have the ability, time or space in order to have gardens of their own, so I help them out a bit!

 

I use NO CHEMICALS on my plants, only cow and worm poop, with some coffee grounds, ground corn/molasses/chicken poop fertilizer (certified organic that I purchase from Indiana) and lots of bird feeders and birds! Okay, I know you’re scratching your head over the last one so I’ll explain…..I was taught at a very young age by the best gardener ever (my Mamaw) that if you kept the wild birds around, with LOTS of bird feeders so they didn’t eat your seeds in the ground (corn, sunflowers, beans, peas, etc), they would take care of all of your wasps, moths, tomato hornworms and corn earworms!! The reason being that while they were sitting around in your plants waiting their turn at the feeder, they would clean the bugs out of your plants for you. I can tell you – IT WORKS!! I generally have over 100 tomato plants in the ground at any given time, and the only tomato worms I ever find are the ones on the tomato plants I grow in pots on the pool deck!! Figure that one out!! I have no bird feeders by the swimming pool, since I don’t like birdseed in my filter.  🙂

 

Because of this Spring/Summer Obsession of mine, I can sit for HOURS and browse the seed catalogs, and draw up my next garden plans and designs. NOT a good idea when you are pressed for time just before Christmas!! To not look at them when they arrive in the mail is torture I tell you – TORTURE!!  😦  AAAGGHHHH!!!

So, I’ll have to hide the new “eye candy” seed catalogs from myself for a few more days….Then watch out!!! The drooling shall begin!!

Until next time…

Shady

P.S. I’ll put up links for you to my supply companies if your interested, but in the mean time here’s all you’ll ever need to know:

Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds  www.rareseeds.com

Totally Tomatoes  www.totallytomato.com

Gardens Alive!!  www.GardensAlive.com

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

