Candy Colored Inspiration….

I know that I’ve been a bit M.I.A. lately – apologies extended to all.  😉   One of the main reasons for this is items like my happy studio flowers above; and the happy flower below….

Oh, and it’s these little guys fault too – actually it is ESPECIALLY their fault!!!

I know – it’s not fair to blame it all on them…..but, it’s their fault – they inspired me.   🙂  

That may sound a bit trite, but it’s the truth. After this long, dreary winter I am MORE THAN ready for some COLOR!!! I have had enough of the drab gray and brown scenery around me, and need a dose of cheery, happy color –  QUICK!!

So, I started thinking about designing a wall hanging for my sewing room/studio. I wanted something bright, fun, unexpected and happy-making! Something that would make me smile! Something made of (God forbid) Pastels, perhaps?!?!? You see, I am NOT a Pastel Person – not at all! Those candy colored fabric confections have NEVER appealed to me – ever…..until this past week. I think it is because of the lack of color for soooo loooong this winter. I’m really not sure what it is, I just decided I needed some BRIGHT colors around me to tide me over until my flower gardens bloom.

So…into the Great Fabric Preservation Vault (a.k.a. my fabric stash closet) I went……

Be Afraid…Be Very Afraid…

You never know what may fall on you….usually with feline help however….

Okay – that’s enough of that half of the closet (you never even got to see my Fat Quarters, LOL – that didn’t sound right).   😉  

Anyways, this is what I found….

And now that, is turning into something like this…..

The Daisy Fabric is probably going to be a border…..we’ll see. It is still a wip (work in progress) that is still in the “auditioning stage” for all of the fabrics/design.

I’ll keep you posted.   🙂  

I’m thinking a big bunny applique in the middle too… LOL

We’ll see what happens.  😉 

Shady

4 Responses to “Candy Colored Inspiration….”

  1. planejaner Says:

    Lordy…I wish I was not a craft challenged woman. But, I know the truth.
    You will have to carry this load for me…as I never will!
    love the colors–Spring is in the air!
    jane

    • shadybrooks Says:

      Jane – LOL – You are too funny 🙂 I’ll do my best 🙂 Sorry if you got the earlier reply before I deleated it – I was trying to do too many things at once at got people mixed up – LOL Right now I’m “focus challenged” due to heavy meds for a sinus infection…..guess that means I should stay off the computer for a bit, but I was missing catching up with everybody 🙂 Glad you liked the colors 🙂

  2. Cindy Parker Says:

    OOOOhhhhhhhh………….something caught my eye in the photos of your fabric closet. In the first two pics of the closet, you can see it in the lower right hand corner draped over what looks like an Early American captain’s char. It looks like a quilt -and by the way, I do love pastels! Please tell me about this quilt!

    • shadybrooks Says:

      Cindy, Thanks for the compliment on the photos! The quilt you are refering to is is a “Bow-Tie” or “Spools” quilt that I rescued from it’s complete destruction a couple years ago. It was made in the VERY early 1900’s, or possibly the very late 1800’s when they were just starting to use black dye on thinner fabrics – so most of those “black shirtings” are decayed away, and the old cotton that they used for batting is peeping thru in several areas. The muslin and other shirtings are still hanging in there, and it was completely made/quilted by hand. I rescued it from a “trash heap” – it just had too much character and history to be allowed to die, as far as I was concerned!! I keep it there on my Mamaws old kitchen chair in the corner of my “fabric vault” so that it’s out of sunlight, but can still “breath” and I can look at it every day – it makes me smile! 🙂


Leave a Reply

