Random Quilty Things

I hope you all had a great weekend, and got out to enjoy some of the sun, and maybe a few of the flowers peeking out. It’s finally getting warmer, the “summer birds” are reappearing, and (by the looks of my lawn) it’s almost time to start mowing again. THAT part I’m not quite ready for…..hmph.Β  😦

Due to a weekends worth of a Sinus/Ear Infection, it has been an “overly Medicated” weekend. This means that I’ve spent far too much time in bed, and not gotten enough done. However, I did get a couple of things accomplished this weekend, and I thought I’d let you take a peek.

I just have to finish stitching down the binding on these, and they can be on their merry way!Β  πŸ™‚Β 

Now, it’s time for more meds, and back to bed I go….

Β 

Y’all have a great day!

Shady

7 Responses to “Random Quilty Things”

  1. flyinggma Says:

    I love the catepillar print fabric. I used to read “The Hungary Catepillar” to my kindergarten students every fall when school started. I usually gathered some catepillars from my garden and we would watch them change into butterflies and release them. It was one of my favorite activities when I taught.

    I don’t know how you get anything accomplished when you are sick, I sure don’t. Today after work I am spending the evening trying to put my house back together after my family has had the run of it while I was out of town since Tues. evening. Its not as bad as it has been sometimes when I come home after a trip.

    • shadybrooks Says:

      LOL – families are VERY good at housewrecking – especially when you are not looking!!!! “The Hungary Caterpillar” was always one of my favorites too, so when I saw these fabrics last summer I just HAD to make a quilt for someone with them. Had no idea who at the time, I figured I’d worry about that later. πŸ™‚ I even picked up the books to go with it and the “Brown Bear, Brown Bear What Do You See” quilt so that when I finished the quilts, I could include them in the gift. They are going to my nephew and my new niece. She is only a couple of months old right now, but I think she’ll love looking at all the caterpillar colors! πŸ™‚ At least, I hope so πŸ™‚

  2. planejaner Says:

    so…let me get this straight:
    you’re sick, on meds, and in bed…
    AND you get all this done?
    YOU ARE A BEAST! πŸ™‚ beautiful-
    jane

    • shadybrooks Says:

      LOLOLOL – Jane, you are too funny! πŸ™‚ In all fairness, I had finished piecing the quilts about a month ago, then I finally got around to batting and backing them last Wednesday. This weekend I was only able to finish up the simple topquilting and sew the bindings on (Friday and Saturday day). But, at least they are finally done!! Yay!!! I’m not a good “sick person”, so I didn’t rest much until I basically collapsed Saturday evening, slept thru Sunday and was finally semi-coherant Monday morning. But, Praise God, I am much better now!!!! By the Grace of God I usually bounce back pretty quickly. πŸ™‚

  3. Jeanne Says:

    Your nephew and new niece will love the quilt and book as well. “Brown Bear, Brown Bear What do you see?” is also another favorite in the kindergarten room. We loved the Eric Carle books. I’m happy to hear you are feeling better and hope that you have a Blessed Easter! Blessings on your day, Jeanne


Leave a Reply

