I Confess….

I have a confession to make….. I forgot.

I’ve owed someone a quilt for a while now.

Fabric was selected (Scott helped – he loved to help with this part).

Design was drawn up.

Pieces were cut.

Then……… Life hit. Hard.

I was thinking about the person this morning – mainly because they were sleeping on my sofa (my son’s best friend), and BLAM – I remembered the quilt!

I had not even THOUGHT about that quilt that I was working on for 7 weeks!

7 Weeks today.

Why did I think of/remember that quilt today? So suddenly, today? Of all days?

Although… How did I forget all about it?

I’ve not sewn, or even had the desire to sew, ANYTHING for those 7 weeks. It’s been in the back of my mind (kinda like a nagging family member) that I should/need to pick up my quilting again. I have just not been able to.

No desire to.

A “want to”, but no desire to.

I just couldn’t do it.

But – I totally forgot all about that quilt!

And then….. it happened.

Remembering that quilt, I suddenly had the desire in me to sew again! Why? Why that quilt??It is not for any special occasion. It is not for any particular holiday. It is not for any competition, or contest. It is just for a sweet Jewish boy who asked me to make him a quilt because no one else ever had!

I suddenly remembered that quilt moments after I woke up (before I even had my coffee brewing!!), and felt the urge to quilt/sew rising up in me again. To actually sit at my machine and make something again! Something that would make someone else smile, and feel loved. Which always makes me smile! But, why today? Why that quilt??

I guess God just decided “it was time” – and to let me know it.

Maybe Scott decided that I had forgotten about something that we had started for long enough, and it was time to “poke” me and get my butt back in gear.

Maybe focusing on my pain, had made me forget about making others happy for far too long.

Maybe… just maybe…. it was just time.

So, if you will excuse me, I have some sewing to go do before Church this morning. I’ll let you know how it goes.    😉   

Have a great day!

Shady

Leave a Reply

