Quilting Confessions

I have a confession…… I am a bit of a quilting snob    😦   

Now, not of the Quiltzilla variety mind you. Just of the quilt pattern/layout variety.    😉   

Imagine, if you will, a local Quilt Club-type gathering……

“Hi! My name is Shady and I’m a quilty snob.”

“Hi Shady!” the people reply.

“I’ve never liked scrap quilts…” I say.

Gasp“, “NO!!” they reply in shock and awe.

“Yup – it’s true. The overall chaos randomness of them with their color choices and pattern design is just not for me.” I state.

Well!” replys Quiltzilla in a huff, “We are sorry, but you just can’t be a member of our club then!! You don’t fit in here. Maybe you should try the club down the street. We  revere our foremothers accomplishments with such beauties, and strive to emulate them in our quilting today! You are just not welcome here!”

“Goodbye”.

I don’t fit in. I like continuity, color compatibility, ratio and flow in my quilts. I don’t want to feel exhausted from trying to “focus” on a non-existent pattern in a random scrap quilt, where there is no resting spot available for your eye. To be brutally honest – they remind me of those color-card samples that companies produce, showing you a “chip” of every fabric/color available. Kinda like your stash throwing-up on your quilt top!

They are just not for me. Now, don’t get me wong – I very much appreciate both the workmanship and skill involved in piecing one of these creations (while not going blind in the process)! I especially admire (no – really, I do) the ornate antique Crazy Quilts that are made up of silks and velvets, containing thousands of gorgeous hand stitches joining the scraps of fabric!! I am just not “drawn” to the random designs, and color schemes, of scrap quilts. Nor do I have any desire to ever make one.    😉   

While the previous “conversation” listed above may seem pretty far-fetched, a form of it did actually take place a few years back! That was the first time I ever met a real Quiltzilla! Needless to say, I didn’t join that quilting group/club/cult.    🙂   

The reason that this whole thing came to mind is because this morning I was selecting fabrics to “alter” a scrappy quilt pattern into something with more “Flow”. I love the pattern – just don’t care much for the fabric choices that they made.    😉   

So, the moral of this story is this:

Be Yourself! Trite as this may sound, if you have to change who you are to fit into someone elses “box”; then their “box” is too small for you anyways – and you will break it sooner or later! Why be/do something you hate, just to be “accepted” by someone else? You will just be miserable, and you will not end up liking them very much in the end!

Be Happy!

Be You!    🙂   

You are the only you God ever made – and He did it for a reason!!

Have a great day!

5 Responses to “Quilting Confessions”

  1. myknittingcircle Says:

    My big birthday is coming up and I always said that after it I would take my mother’s house dresses and a couple of my old cotton dresses and now scraps from my daughter’s toddler dresses and make a quilt. I won’t be doing a totally random scrap quilt but using them in a Grandmother’s Fan pattern. My inspiration for using this pattern is a quilt top she started before I was born.

    • shadybrooks Says:

      Love the Fan Patterns – they can be a really neat collection of fabrics!! I especially like the ones I’ve seen from the 30’s and 40’s where they used the Fans as Butterfly wings! The scrap quilts that drive me “batty” are the totally random Postage Stamp Quilts that have hundreds and hundreds of different pieces/fabrics in them. Sensory Overload for me! LOL. I walk away from them feeling slightly dizzy! Great quilts – just a little “too much” for me to take in. 🙂

  2. planejaner Says:

    Love this one today, Shady…and the reminder that God quilted us together in just the way He wanted.
    blessings
    jane

  3. flyinggma Says:

    I’m like you Shady I march to the beat of a different drummer. I rarely find a place where I feel I fit. I’m content to do things my way but it can be lonely at times.


Leave a Reply

